Energy Sciences Institute

The Energy Sciences Institute (ESI) hosts faculty from the physical sciences and focuses on the emerging challenges facing the environment and energy sectors. Researchers develop new materials for energy production and storage while advancing the sophisticated tools necessary to characterize the functionality of these materials. Additionally, the Institute develops core competency in solar energy, alternative fuels, and carbon mitigation. The ESI works closely with the School of Engineering and provides abundant and flexible laboratory space for many exciting and unique projects. Interdisciplinary research in the ESI involves the departments of Chemistry, Geology & Geophysics, Chemical & Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science, and Applied Physics. 



Faculty Advisory Committee:

  • Gary Brudvig, Director (Chemistry) 
  • Charles Ahn (Applied Physics & Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science)
  • Victor Batista (Chemistry)
  • David Bercovici (Geology and Geophysics)
  • Jeeyoung Cha (Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science)
  • Alessandro Gomez (Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science)
  • Shu Hu (Chemical and Environmental Engineering)
  • Jaehong Kim (Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science)
  • Owen Miller (Applied Physics)
  • Udo Schwarz (Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science & Chemical and Environmental Engineering)
  • Vidvuds Ozolins (Applied Physics)
  • Scott Strobel (Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry)
  • Leandros Tassiulas (Electrical Engineering)
  • Hailiang Wang (Chemistry)

Affiliated Faculty